Food List with Carb Factors

We use carb factors to calculate how many carbs are in the food my son eats so he can figure out how much insulin to take. I have compiled a list in both Excel and ListPro that has the nutritional information (mostly from USDA food list) and also the carb factor. You can download this to your PC and your Palm or PPC. I submitted this list to the ListPro Exchange, but it has been revised since then. Here is the revised List Pro version.

There are about 8,000 food items in here and it also includes some restaurants. You can update it and add items to it after it is on your Palm or PC. Excel format

17 Responses

  1. Gail,
    Thank you so much for the carb factor list!! Did you type this whole thing yourself? I’m impressed with this list!
    Thanks! Wendy (Isaiah’s Mom)

  2. LOL … no I didn’t type it! I merged the USDA food list with a couple of restaurant food lists to make one!

  3. Gail,

    Awesome list – thanks! Question about the spices. I had not been counting spices at all then I looked at your list and the carb amount for them is ENORMOUS…am I reading this right – like 50 carbs for something like a tablespoon. Can’t be right – can it?

    BTW – you know this already but you are the best – you help us all so much.

    Jo Ann

  4. OBVIOUSLY there is something wrong there!! I am comparing now to the USDA list, and it is not showing 70 or 80 carbs for some of these spices! I will go through and fix each one of these. The couple I pulled up, the carb FACTOR was right, just not the amount of carbs in 1 tsp!

    I merged this list from a couple of different sources, so somewhere along the line, the information was wrong. Thanks for letting me know! When I get it fixed, I will upload a new list. In the meantime, double check the amounts http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/ or http://www.calorieking.com/.

  5. Hey…you had nothing else to do right??? :0) I’m glad I didn’t count those spices – would hate to overdose my child big time because I had a hankering for a pinch of garlic salt – ha! ha! Kidding….no one would give thier child 3 units of insulin for a spice so don’t worry. You have a lot of good info on your blog – I hadn’t looked at it for a few months. You’ve put a lot of work into it and it shows. Thanks for sharing…as you always do.

    Jo Ann (Mom2Madi)

  6. I have now REVISED the links in this blog entry. Hopefully it is now correct!!

  7. Hi Gail,

    Thanks for putting together the carb factor list. However I cannot seem to download it in any recognizable form. I tried both the list pro and the excel links you give, but both come out as total gibberish, wiht lots of letters from other alphabets and other symbols instead of anything familiar. Even the Excel version looks like that. What I wanted was the short list, but I guess that is 404 Not Found now.

    Do you know what I might be doing wrong to get these results from a download that apparently works for other people?

    Thanks for your help,
    Morris

  8. The 1st thought that comes to my mind is what version of Excel do you have? I have 2003, so I believe any version prior to 2003 probably won’t download. Usually the later versions allow for opening previous ones, but if you have an older one, it can’t open a file that uses newer technology.

    If you do not have the program List Pro on your PC or PDA, then you will not be able to open that one.

    When you say you get gibberish, are you trying to open it from Word or something? That doesn’t work either.

    The link I provided for a short list is no longer available online, I just found out a couple of days ago, so I need to go back to my 1st post and delete the link.

    Hope that helps!

  9. […] my blog entry Food List with Carb Factors to see where you can download the entire USDA food list to find out the carb […]

  10. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  11. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying
    your blog and look forward to new posts.

  12. First off I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your mind before writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting
    my ideas out there. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any suggestions or tips? Appreciate it!

  13. Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

  14. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which
    I think I would never understand. It seems too
    complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

  15. You actually won’t have to get louis vuitton outlet it done. The combined lawsuit comes several months after the rest of us who actually care about our city and teams.

  16. They feature an all black upper constructed from full grain leather, as well
    as a gaping window on the air jordan pas cher. The victim was wrongly believed to have
    just purchased air jordan pas chers. How to define the basketball shoes, because
    it is good enough for playing basketball.

  17. So see if you can watch all the matches that involve the teams.
    Any challenge not supported by the referee will cost the team games and then deflecting the blame?
    San Diego 2-2 held Arizona to 124 yards
    of offense — second worst in the Champ Bailey Jersey.
    Had Green Bay won that game 47-12 without the starters stepped foot between the white lines,
    this could be just the beginning. Against three of the champ bailey jersey season.

Leave a Reply

